ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

I messed up big time... need help with strange eng/trans problems.

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-11, 03:17 AM
sinergy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I messed up big time... need help with strange eng/trans problems.

Hello everyone, newbie here. Last week I purchased a 2000 ES300 platinum edition. 257,000 miles yeah, bad I know, to make matters worse, it was an impulse buy by my wife at the auction, so didnt get a test drive. This was her first auction, ouch. We wanted another Lexus as we love our rx300 and have shared that car for a year. Anyways, auction over, car purchased, crank it up, well after jumping it off, drive it off lot, overheating. Tried to turn on heat to bring down temp, no heat. coolant boiling out of expansion tank. Get the car home after stopping 5-6 times to cool down. During the drive I noticed there was no overdrive, running 3-4k Rpm at 40mph, will not shift into high gear. Oh and there is about 4" of play in the steering. FML. Ok, so took thermostat out, it had been cut and bypassed to allow flow, interesting... Replaced fan temp switch and radiator cap that was bad as well and running hot still at idle, still no heat so I assume no coolant flow, going to replace water pump. Fans work only when a/c is on, otherwise never come on. So, if this doesn't work still where do I go from here, besides the crusher of course, lol. Any ideas what would be causing the overdrive problem, is this all linked? I plugged my code reader in and it is running in an open cycle, so it looks like there were codes, although I have no idea what they were, and they were cleared out to not show up at auction. And what would be causing the excessive play in steering wheel, feels like I'm driving on ice, sounds like a tie rod to me, would I be correct? Sorry to bombard everyone with all this as my first post, but man my hands are