ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Antenna Prob Professional Help plz

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-02, 07:50 PM
BigghookUp
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Antenna Prob Professional Help plz

Hey everybody. I officially installed my new stereo all by my self and im a noob. I'd have to say after doing it one time i was cautious but if I were to do it again i would be in and out in a hour tops. Its a simple job. If anything, the hardest part was probably taking out the stock stereo.

Anyways everything works fine except for one thing.

The new stereo that i bought only has one slot for the power antenna, BUT I have 2 pluges to power the antenna, as I noticed after they are both important. The thickerone I fit into the stereo but the thinner plug I figured out powers the antenna to go up and down.

So the problem is that my antenna does not go up to get a better signal.

Any advise? If it helps anymore, its a 96 es300. Is there an adapter of some converter that i can get? for 2 plugs into one.

Also have to say, autotoys is a very good and reliable source for all your lex needs. There fast and very secure.

Thanks in advance.
Old 10-09-02, 01:22 AM
Luc
Pit Crew

Hmm...that's odd, that smaller plug is just a diversity tuning for the OEM headunit, it shouldn't have anything to do with the power antenna going up or down from the aftermarket radio. Do you have a harness adapter? Typically, the blue wires from the headunit and harness should be wired up as that is the power antenna turn on.

Luc
Old 10-09-02, 09:32 AM
BigghookUp
Pole Position

Yes, I installed the metra converter from the stock wires to the new stereo. The only porblem after i first installed it was i DIDN"T attach the blue//white wire=amplifier to the stereo because there was no available wire. Instead i used the power antenna wire to attack to the antenna//amplifier wire from the new stereo,