ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

98 Lexus Es300 Rear Valve Cover Gasket

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-12, 11:32 PM
DGIKULJOT
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 Lexus Es300 Rear Valve Cover Gasket

Hey guys,
I own a 98 lexus es300 with a leaking rear valve cover gasket, the car has 163k miles on it and is still going pretty strong. I want to try and tackle this job myself.
I am an electronics engineering student, and I am pretty handy with tools.

I bought a pdf sevice manual for my car on ebay for like 6 dollars and it has nothing in their abou replacing valve cover gaskets. So I was wondering if you guys can give me any tips or pointers. Also from some of the other posts I read there are some diagrams out their which show where we have to put some special sealer on the valve cover? can someone please shed some light on this for me.

I would greatly appreciate if someone can link any documents relating to this job as I dont think it would be worth it for me to buy a Haines manual just for this job.

Thanks
Old 08-14-12, 02:26 AM
Hayk
Lead Lap

Received 294 Likes on 232 Posts

I'll update this post later today. I did the job last summer with almost the exact same mileage on my car.
Old 08-14-12, 04:37 AM
BDSL
Lexus Test Driver

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Off the top of my head
- remove the top engine plastic cover
- remove the air intake plumbing
- remove the intake manifold, EGR, etc
- remove the spark plug wires
- at this point, you should have access to the rear valve cover. Remove it!!
- replace the valve cover gasket and the 3 o-gaskets inside the valve cover
- apply some RTV sealant on the valve cover gasket where there is sharp turn/corner
- put everything back in.
- do not over torque the valve cover bolts!!!!!
Old 08-14-12, 11:33 AM
Hayk
Lead Lap

In addition to that, here is your suggested shopping list:

Intake Plenum Gasket