ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Need ES300 Gurus! Just bought one with problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-14, 05:46 AM
EPayne42
Pit Crew

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Need ES300 Gurus! Just bought one with problems

Hello,

This is my first post at Club Lexus and I'm excited to hear from the members. I just purchased a 1999 ES300 for my son and it has its share of issues. I'm a former ASE tech (some 20 years ago) and still have skills and tools. I've done pretty much every job on car from tune-ups to engine and trans swaps, so labor intensive work doesn't worry me. I'm willing to put some decent money into getting the car back to tip-top shape because we didn't pay much to acquire it.

HERE'S THE VITALS:
1999 ES300
200K mi
Clean Carfax report, 1 owner that seemed to keep it dealer maintained until about a year or so ago. No accidents, Body & interior are CLEAN

PROBLEMS:
Steering is vague to say the least. I haven't looked under the car yet, but I'd say the front suspension is shot and needs to be replaced. What's worrisome is the car is all over the place when driving. With the car parked, you can move the wheel a good bit back and forth and the front wheels stay put, not responding to the steering wheel.

CEL throwing codes P0300, P0301, P0303, P0305, & P1349. I did some research and have some ideas of what to attack 1st, but would like to hear from others.