ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

1996 Lexus Es300 does not strat..engine cranks no start, Please help !!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-17 | 05:06 AM
Shin
Driver School Candidate

Question 1996 Lexus Es300 does not strat..engine cranks no start, Please help !!!

Hello all good people,
i am a student, I got this car from a backyard. 1996 Lexus Es300. Front driver side window does not open. Other than that engine light comes on after driving for some time. turning a/c on and pushing the accelerator hard. Okey so that was the condition i got the car. I drove it to my home 40kms.. drove it around couple of times ..no problems. it had no fuel by then.

Next thing, Car trying to start it feels engine, Turing on then immediately shuts off. i thought maybe it just ran our of fuel. to test i put about 4L of petrol in. Car started right away then for one time.

Next day i went , this time the car u can only hear engine cranking, no start..... one observation : i tired 3-4 times with turning key, if i keep holding on ..the car vibrates nd gives the sound you get when engine starts but this is for one sec only,, and again back to where it was... engine only cranking. the radio cuts power when starting btw.

What things should i try to get an idea ..whats wrong with the car ? fuel pump, sparks etc. Looked in few forums ,,from my search i found this one as such my first post here ...

Greetings from a humble person
Thanks !! Please help

For anyone seeing this : I had a bad battery, had to change battery with 600CCA, Car working good now. thanks all

Last edited by Shin; 11-27-17 at 11:08 AM. Reason: Update
Old 10-29-17 | 08:25 AM
HomerJay
Intermediate