ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

New to me ES330

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-19, 12:56 PM
ibexmonj
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to me ES330

Hey all

Recently purchased a 2004 ES 330 with 152k miles on it. I really liked the way it drove specially since i have been used to driving my sienna for a while. What a change.
Took it to a Toyota dealership out of curiosity; mind you no check engine light and no issues but i was just curious specially since i didnt have the privilege to inspect it pre-purchase. The dealer took care of registration and inspection and they even changed all breaks, rotors and calipers + an oil change. And the price was right for me so i couldnt pass on the opportunity and go seek a private seller.

Anyways, below is the list of recommendations from the toyota dealership and the cost associated with them. I am no mechanic but 3k for the rear backing plates ? The total cost is almost how much the car cost.

What are the recommendations here. I am going to seek a second opinion here for sure but wanted to reach out to the community here first.

Thanks
Old 04-17-19, 01:29 PM
LeX2K
Lexus Fanatic

Received 2,933 Likes on 2,470 Posts

Intermediate shaft
http://www.japan-parts.eu/lexus/us/2...&pa=4522033270
rear backing plate
http://www.japan-parts.eu/lexus/us/2...-brake-cable/2

I couldn't find the heat shield they listed, "with bearings" is too vague. The price for a rad replacement is borderline robbery. Is there a problem with the steering in any way? The backing plates are very expensive you don't replace them unless rusted out which does happen in some climates. I would never go back to that dealer.
Old 04-17-19, 01:36 PM
ibexmonj
Driver School Candidate

Appreciate the link to the parts thats helpful specially since im a noob.