ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

95 Es300 Engine Swap Woes

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-20, 06:55 AM
Chipsterle
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 Es300 Engine Swap Woes

Hello all, newbie here glad to find such a wonderful informative lexus forum...

Now on to my problem. I have a 95 es300 that developed a rod knock so I decided on replacing the engine with a used one. I found a guy with a toyota 1mz-fe not sure what exact year for sale on facebook marketplace for a decent price. I purchased and took it to my local mechanic for a engine swap. The only differences were he had to use my fuel rail and intake from my engine and my power steering pump from my engine. Also there was no oil sensor plug on the bottom of the engine and he had to use my coil packs as the toyota engine had just regular spark plug wires.After getting it to crank and run for about 15mins we shut it down and it would not immediately crank back up. After changing crank and cam sensors still no crank so eventually we checked the plugs and they were wet with gas. After changing plugs it started back up and after shutting off again once again no crank. The mechanic seems to think a difference in the fuel rails or the fuel pressure regulator is the problem as my lexus fuel rail has a fuel pressure regulator and the the toyota fuel rail did not have a fuel pressure regulator built onto it. he seems to think that now the car is shooting too much gas and is fouling the plugs. Do any of you guys have any insight or pointers on what we should be checking or anything else we may be diagnosing wrong?

Thanks and any help will be greatly appreciated..
Old 01-07-20, 08:41 AM
LeX2K
Lexus Fanatic

Received 3,034 Likes on 2,549 Posts