ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Errors 2000 ES 300

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-20 | 10:25 AM
Bub3Ee2
Driver School Candidate

Question Errors 2000 ES 300

Hi, I am new to this forum, and new to the problems I am having with a 2000 ES 300 model. The errors that keep coming up are as follows: C1201 Engine communication circuit. P0420 Catalyst system efficiency below threshold bank 1.

Air filter has been changed last month, oil and coolant are alright. No apparent leaks. The battery might need changing, for example, the car didn't start 4 days ago, needed to boost it to get it going; has not been an issue since. However, the headlights and console lights will flicker slightly. I know this might be a battery issue.

The main issue is knowing where the Catalyst System bank 1 is located. I am no expert, and the Covid-19 pandemic has me strained financially. I have searched all over google for some schematics on where it is located, but with no luck. If anyone is having these issues, or a combination of these issues, I would greatly appreciate any help or guidance on what to do next. If we knew where this bank one catalytic system is located, we may be able to narrow down our approach. Our guess is that the catalytic converter needs to be replaced, OR the onboard CPU for the car might need work or changing, but like I said before, I am no expert and I want to gather as much information as possible from anyone who is more experienced in working with the ES 300 model. If I am way off on this, I would greatly appreciate any advice.

Be safe out there!
Old 09-12-20 | 02:58 PM
Arsenii
Pole Position

Hello and Welcome!