ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

How can I improve my car?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-22 | 03:24 PM
SaturnAndT
7th Gear

Question How can I improve my car?

Hi!

I'm Saturn, and I have zero experience when it comes to repairing/modding a car. I have a 2002 ES300 and, to be frank, it's at death's door. But I don't want to get rid of it, it's a great car, just need a little love. (Plus car prices are ridiculous right now.)So I've set out on a mission - to make it nearly as powerful as a new car.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice on what I can do to improve horsepower for this, and what I should and shouldn't do at home. I hear mixed advice from everyone on how to do things like replacing brakes, getting a new air filter, and just getting a smoother ride in general. I'd love to avoid seeing a mechanic if at all possible, minimum wage doesn't leave much spare money.

My goals are to get his car to be:
- Faster (300 or more HP)
- Smoother (No more shaky steering wheel, and maybe less road noise)
And last but not least
- More reliable (I need to get to school somehow!)

And my problems with my car are:
- Bad brakes
- Stiff-ish steering even after adding power steering fluid and new wheels
- Transmission is bad (I'm getting a mechanic for this one lol)
- Road noise is so loud it hurts my ears
- Shaky steering wheel (Not sure if this is normal or not??)
- Bass speaker is blown-out.
- Car makes weird clicking sound when turned on (Can only hear it from the outside)
And
- Turning it on fills the air with a very, VERY strong smell of gas

Does anyone have any tips? I appreciate anything. (Except comments telling me to get a new car, I can't afford that </3 )
Thanks in advance!
Old 03-24-22 | 03:55 PM
sub786sub
Driver

Originally Posted by SaturnAndT
Hi!