ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Event Data Recorder

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-06, 11:44 AM
PaJaHa1
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Event Data Recorder

Is our car equipped with this "technology"? I've been reading about it today and did not realize how many cars have it. I never checked the owner's manual, where they are supposed to disclose that it's in the car. I'm far from a privacy advocate, but would certainly be opposed to the unit being in my car.
Old 08-21-06, 11:56 AM
twister
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Is this supposed to be like a "black box"? Do you have a link describing this technology? Off top of my head, and because I'm an engineer designing optical telecom transmission circuits (yeah, a mouthful ), we often use this concept to track "working history" of the devices which can come handy if something breaks and needs to be troubleshooted. So, I would really like to know exactly how does this gets implemented in autos. Maybe keeping track of gasoline we use, top/average speed, acceleration, driving intervals, etc.?
Old 08-21-06, 12:02 PM
07LexusGuy
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

try this link:
http://www.cnn.com/2006/AUTOS/08/21/...ule/index.html

These have been in certain Toyota/Lexus models since 2005 (or even before - I just know my 05 has it). And yes... it should be in your manual if your car is equiped with the device.
Old 08-21-06, 12:11 PM
PaJaHa1
Pole Position

Google is your friend, Twister!

They are marketed to be a resource to determine fault in accidents. There are more troublesome capabilities, however, such as catching people speeding!

I've heard rumors that in some states the data is not released unless a warrant is issued. What worries me is that these things have very quietly made their way into cars and who knows what they are really using them for...
Old 08-22-06, 04:31 PM
LexFather

Data from my understanding is not to be released