ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Intermittent low beams - ES350, 2007

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-19, 05:34 PM
Baby888
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Intermittent low beams - ES350, 2007

I have been fighting intermittent low beams on a 2007 ES350 for several months. The low beams come on and after a couple of minutes the driver's side low beam flickers and turns off. The low beam turns on again if the headlight switch is switched from Auto to off and then back to Auto or on. Sometimes, the passenger side would do the same thing and occasionally both low beams would turn off. Both low beam halogen bulbs have been replaced a couple of times now and the bulb connectors did not appear to have any problems - no corrosion and the contacts seemed to have good pressure against the bulb contacts. Both low beam fuses were checked, removed from the fuse box and checked for corrosion, then replaced. The problem behavior did not change. I spoke with a mechanic at the dealership and he had not seen this issue before. He gave me a schematic of the low beam circuit to help troubleshoot the problem. The low beam control circuit is a little strange in that there are two relays and two FETs that control the lights. These are located inside of the engine compartment fuse box, but on an internal layer that is not accessible without taking the fuse box apart.