ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Used car prep

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-23, 09:21 PM
alih
2nd gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Used car prep

I am closing on a 2017 ES 350 soon. This is my first time owning a Lexus/Toyota car and would like some advice on what to do in terms of ensuring I take good care of it from the get go.

2017 ES 350, 120KM. The car drives quite well, no sounds or issues in engine during startup or running, transmission shifting smooth while driving though the shifter felt slightly stiff when moving between Park to drive or to reverse, like not effortless but not stuck either? Would like insights on cause/potential fixes.

Dealership covers engine oil + filter + new tires, independent mechanic checked and said rear brake pads are quite good and front are at 60%, suspension in solid shape, spark plugs replaced recently. I am planning to do the following once I receive the car, please advise if you think I should add or remove something.
  1. Replace engine oil + filter (done by dealer)
  2. Replace engine and cabin air filter
  3. Coolant flush
  4. Replace brake fluid (would you recommend a flush instead of just replacing?)
  5. Replace transmission fluid (planning to follow the advice on this forum, drain and top up the quantity drained, then repeat at next oil change)
  6. Top up washer fluid with winter fluid (in GTA - Ontario and winters here soon)
  7. Put Techron fuel system cleaner (open to suggestions on better products) plus 91 Octane gas and take the car on a long drive.
Super excited to join the Lexus club and hoping to learn from all your experiences!
Old 09-30-23, 05:07 AM
BillUK
Intermediate

Received 97 Likes on 73 Posts

Congratulations, here's what I'd do:

1. Assuming service records show regular oil changes, and dealer is using the correct oil and OEM filter, then I'd leave it for a few thousand miles.