Transmission Service?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-18, 11:20 PM
UCLABryan
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Service?

Hey all,

I'm no mechanic but I try to keep up as best as I can with maintenance. I have a 2015 es300h and I was told I do not need to change transmission fluid. I had this problem before, not with a Lexus. So changing transmission fluid is in my head. I notice in the RX300 hybrid also has the same advice from the manual. I have a good friend that bought one used and at just very 100k the transmission crapped out and the vehicle wasn't in good shape so they didn't fix it.

Is this normal? I'm in San Francisco driving up and down hills and also have a long commute. I'm at 60k already and would to at least change the fluid. Any ideas?

Thx!

Emery
Old 06-01-18, 02:56 AM
Freds430
Pole Position

Received 1,128 Likes on 732 Posts

This subject and what grade of gas is required are the two most debated. We have a 2015 RX450h and a 2017 Es300h. I asked my local Lexus Service Manager who works all day on Lexus's, has been trained on Lexus's and has many years of experience. I will trust him much more than any one on this forum. He will not take my money when I asked him about transmission fluid change. His reply was "could actually cause more harm than good to change".
Old 06-01-18, 06:07 AM
bc6152
Lead Lap

Received 1,300 Likes on 905 Posts

There are threads on this forum that go on and on regarding "change or not change" the tranny fluid. Some are hard liners that want to change at 30k, some at 50k and some at other intervals. The engineers at Lexus, who are probably smarter than most members of this forum regarding the transmission, say that it is not required. My money is on them.

As far as your buddy's car, there will always be exceptions and who knows what was done with the car before he bought it? Do a forum search for loads of posts on this subject.