ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Average fuel fill on "empty"..?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-19, 04:26 PM
SoonerDave
Rookie

Received 13 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Average fuel fill on "empty"..?

I'm a newb in the Lexus world, and just bought a 2015 ES 350. Love it like Bugs Bunny loves carrots. Drives like an absolute dream and its just plain stinking awesome.

The one curiosity I have about my car is this: When the gas gauge nears E and the "Driving Range" slides to the 30-50 mile range, I expect a tank refill to take about 14-15 gallons (given ~17 gallon capacity), but it usually takes only 12-13. I know that topping off the tank once the filler shuts off is a big no-no, but a 12-13 gal fillup implies I'm shorting the tank a good 3-4 gallons. Is the cutoff happening too soon?

I was a little concerned about possible evap problem, because one generic vehicle driveability issue wherein the gas pump cutoff hits prematurely is a possible EVAP cannister problem. No codes on my car, no real problem, just an observation that it seems to click off too quickly.
Old 03-13-19, 08:01 PM
gamma742
Intermediate

Received 79 Likes on 62 Posts

This is a common complaint with this year/model Lexus. There is nothing wrong with your new car.
Old 03-13-19, 11:59 PM
Poppa
Instructor

Received 166 Likes on 119 Posts

Originally Posted by SoonerDave
. I know that topping off the tank once the filler shuts off is a big no-no, but a 12-13 gal fillup implies I'm shorting the tank a good 3-4 gallons. Is the cutoff happening too soon?

I was a little concerned about possible evap problem, because one generic vehicle driveability issue wherein the gas pump cutoff hits prematurely is a possible EVAP cannister problem. No codes on my car, no real problem, just an observation that it seems to click off too quickly.