ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Tire Time?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-22, 10:39 AM
Poppa
Instructor

Received 166 Likes on 119 Posts
Default Tire Time?

Hello friends, couple of quick questions for you. How many of you subscribe to the rule that regardless of how much tread is left on your tires, you should replace them at 6 years of age. I ask because I am at that point right now. I've been running a set of Pirilli's since 2016. Tread life is still very good, 7/32'nds all the way around. They only have 30K on them, and my untrained eyes do not see any tire rot. But after doing a little on line research, I've read that just because I don't see any tire rot, that doesn't mean that there's not something going on inside the tire. I will say the Pirelli's have been a good riding, low noise tire, but I have also noticed that they are beginning to ride a little "firmer" lately.. Tire's feel hard.. So replace or not to replace. I only ask now because in the next two months we'll be taking a couple of 2K mile round trips. Also, while I have no issues with the Pirilli's, if I do replace them I'm thinking of trying a different tire, with soft ride and low road noise being my two most important features. Some of those I'm considering are: Yokohama Avid Ascend LX, either the Goodyear MaxLife or Assurance comfort drive, Michelin MXM4.. I'd appreciate your thoughts and or recommendations... Thanks everyone.

Last edited by Poppa; 07-28-22 at 10:44 AM.
Old 07-28-22, 01:59 PM
bc6152
Lead Lap

Received 1,286 Likes on 896 Posts