ES - 7th Gen (2019-present) Discussion topics related to 2019+ ES models

2019 F Sport vs. 2015 ES Review

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-18, 11:11 AM
themanintx
Driver School Candidate

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2019 F Sport vs. 2015 ES Review

Hi everyone, I thought you all might like to read more about the new ES F Sport, so here's my own review after two weeks with the new car. A couple quick notes:

1) Before the new car, I had a new 2015 ES 350 for three years -- a great car that drove nicely, was super comfortable and never gave me problems.
2) Forgive me if I don't get some technical terms right, I'm a newbie here, but have been a life-long car lover

What's Different from 2015 v. 2019:

DRIVE: 2015 was a nice, comfortable, solid drive, but boring. Like a big bowl of vanilla ice cream with nothing added. Sure it drove smooth and could get moving, but no "wow" factor at all. 2019 is basically all the above, but with a bit more power all around, some zip factor from the start, some engine growl and a much tighter suspension. You can take turns and corners a lot faster.

EXTERIOR: 2019 just looks way more sporty. Lots more angles, sleeker and edgy the whole way around. Little things like the headlights, wheels and outside mirrors appear much more sharp -- but the outside mirrors are a lot smaller (and also they don't fold automatically, you have to get out the car and do that yourself, seriously Lexus?) and much less field view than the 2015. Optional colored brake calipers would have been nice, as would colored tire valve caps.