ES - 7th Gen (2019-present) Discussion topics related to 2019+ ES models

Special/Custom Order

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-22 | 01:54 PM
blanshot
Driver School Candidate

Default Special/Custom Order

Hi there. I’m new to the Lexus community so please bear with me if I’m asking newb/rookie questions.

TLDR is at the bottom.

I currently drive a 2021 Honda Acoord 1.5L Sport Edition and I am having a buyer’s remorse. It does it’s job of getting me to point A to point B but it feels like I’m driving plastic. Granted, it’s built quality inside is solid, no creaks or anything. Back room is roomy.

I’ve been doing extensive research on BMW because that is what I loved as my first luxury sports car. I used to drive a 2009 BMW 335i xDrive Coupe. Did not like the turbo lag though.

I drove a 2019 CPO ES 350 last week and I fell in love. It’s smooth and luxuries (the ventilated seats also got me for my sweaty bottom…) and it seemed solid and upon researching it seems as if Lexus is the best luxury brand in terms of reliability.

I’m at a point where I’m just not into sports cars as much. I want a BMW but I do not have the finance to lease every three years nor I am willing to own one to pay a leg for maintenance and repairs every year.

This is the reason why I’m here.

I want to custom order a Lexus ES 350 UL however when I went to the Lexus dealership at Indianapolis they told me that for the past year and a half Lexus is rejecting all custom or special orders from clients for some reason so I will be unable to order. It sounds to me that me and the dealership are at the mercy of buying whatever is on the way or the lot.

The salesperson wasn’t being a **** either and was professional.

My last car was a 2020 Ford F-150 and I absolutely hated the dealership experience I went through. I just want to custom order my ES 350 to the way I want it.

Has anybody else experience this in the recent pandemic? If not, then how do I force the dealer for a custom order?