ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

2006 ES330 (4ES) Towing Experience/Instructions

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-12, 03:27 AM
EclipseAWD
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 ES330 (4ES) Towing Experience/Instructions

I decided to tow around my Honda CBR954RR. Looked into towing with my '06 ES330. And just towing in general. Went ahead and DIY-ed it all and drove ~1000 miles in a week. Car has ~115K. I tried searching on the ES330 as a viable tow machine but found nothing on the matter; hence this write-up.

Hard to find any info on the max tow capacity but I found two sources (one link below) that say MAX Tow Capacity for ES330 is 2000lbs. My motorbike trailer and bike combo should be half of that.
www.edmunds.com/lexus/es-330/2006/features-specs.html

I'm new to towing but from what I understand, factors vehicle-side include engine torque (preferably low end), transmission gearing, transmission/engine "toughness", ATF overheating, chassis rigidity/strength, rear suspension durability, braking power/fade resistance.

The only one I could realistically upgrade on the quick/cheap was the brake pads, I changed the OEM fronts to POWER STOP 16-906 Full Ceramic Pads. Afaik, the OE material is also ceramic so I don't know if this really counts as an "upgrade".

ES330 specs for reference
GVWR 4540lb
GAWR Front 2670lb Rear 2280lb
Max Cargo 900lbs
MAX Tow Capacity 2000lbs
Torque: 240 ft-lbs. @ 3600 rpm
Horsepower: 225 hp @ 5600 rpm

Tow bar purchased from www.etrailer.com. Excellent experience. Very efficient/capable staff/company.

Draw-Tite Trailer Hitch Receiver - Part # 36336 -------> ~$160 shipped (no tax for IL)
Reese Towpower 21900 Class II Ball Mount --------------> $19.99 (Walmart)
1 7/8" Ball -------------------------------------------> ~$10 (Walmart)

I haven't got around to trailer lights. Harness that's needed is T-One #118308 for ~$30.