GS - 1st Gen (1993-1997) Discussion about the first generation GS300

Please Help! 1994 GS300

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-08, 06:39 AM
drossi6
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please Help! 1994 GS300

If anyone can help me out I'd really appreciate it! I have a 1994 GS300 that won't let me remove the ignition key unless I disconnect the battery. The car starts and runs fine, when I put in into PARK and turn the key to shut it off, it stops at ACC and will not continue turning to the LOCK position so that I can remove it. If I turn the clockwise again, the car will start and run no problem. I leaned pretty hard on the shifter to make sure it is in PARK but also figured that since it restarts the ECU must realize that its in PARK. I'm still learning about this car but right now I'm pretty lost. If anyone has any ideas PLEASE let me know. Thanks
Old 08-07-08, 10:05 AM
GoldGS3
Pole Position

Try pressing in and turning the key towards you, and release/pull the key out.
Old 08-07-08, 10:30 AM
drossi6
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for the reply GoldGS3, but I've bent twisted pulled and did just about anything you can think of to the key after shutting it off. It isn't letting go! The key turns and slides out effortlessly when the battery is disconnected, so I have to think that some input has to be reset to the ECU or there is an input signal that is not being made. Do you know if there is another shifter position switch that is used beside the nuetral safety circuit?
Old 08-07-08, 01:28 PM
WickedLex
Driver School Candidate

I believe I had the same problem with my car. What was causing the key not to come out the ignition was the shift lever not fully being in PARK! When you put the car into PARK please make sure its fully in park. Hopefully this is the problem
Old 08-07-08, 02:00 PM
drossi6
Driver School Candidate