GS - 1st Gen (1993-1997) Discussion about the first generation GS300

Need help!!! Please!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-08 | 10:39 PM
driftkid83
Driver School Candidate

Default Need help!!! Please!!

Ok i just bought a 93 GS300. Now i am no new to the 2jz engine but i am new to the GS model. Well when i bought this car a few days ago it overheated on and i checked it and all it seemed to be was the radiator cap. so i replaced it. ok i arrived home and i decided to check it again and when i pulled it off the damn thing was broken in half. so i bought another one and i decided to to do a tune up on it and i checked the cap again and it was broken in half. WTF this has never happend to me before. now i drove this car home from a 200 mile trip to pick it up it over heated on me because the fluid all came out of the filler neck where the cap goes. (60 miles into the trip) it hasnt overheated since but I've replaced the stupid cap three times. any idea what could be wrong and is there any where i can buy a powersteering pressure hose that isnt the dealer?
Old 09-29-08 | 06:29 AM
Kaiser
Racer

How do you break a cap in half? It sounds physically impossible.
Old 09-29-08 | 08:44 AM
Triple C
Lead Lap

Did the inside of the cap seperate form the top Housing.
Do you have an aftermarket Radiator ?
Have you checked to see if your fluid is even passing through the system?
IS the radiator Resivoir tank bubbleing when you turn the car off?
Does it stay cool when you are at Speed ?
Have you checked your OIL
If you answer we might be able to help more
Old 09-29-08 | 05:21 PM
driftkid83
Driver School Candidate