GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Jack slipped and dented oil pan, I need your advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-24, 01:49 PM
D3AN
Pit Crew

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Jack slipped and dented oil pan, I need your advice

The jack slipped and fell on the oil pan putting in a sizable dent. Pretty much the weight of the front half was sitting on the oil pan. I didn't think anything of it at the time until I took a second look today. I've been driving it like this for 2 months without issue. Do you guys think I should replace the pan (or at least hammer out the dent) and replace the oil pick up? Would the oil pressure light turn on if the pickup was being too obstructed? (had minor oil leaks prior to this incident, but I'm still not losing any significant amount of oil)

Last edited by D3AN; 04-24-24 at 01:59 PM. Reason: added more info
Old 04-24-24, 01:54 PM
LeX2K
Lexus Fanatic

Received 3,031 Likes on 2,546 Posts

Replace the oil pan. By the time your oil light turns on it's probably too late.
Old 04-26-24, 03:36 AM
BenjaminAnderson
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by D3AN
The jack slipped and fell on the oil pan putting in a sizable dent. Pretty much the weight of the front half was sitting on the oil pan. I didn't think anything of it at the time until I took a second look today. I've been driving it like this for 2 months without issue. Do you guys think I should replace the pan (or at least hammer out the dent) and replace the oil pick up? Would the oil pressure light turn on if the pickup was being too obstructed? (had minor oil leaks prior to this incident, but I'm still not losing any significant amount of oil)
Spoiler

What did you do?

Last edited by BenjaminAnderson; 04-30-24 at 10:42 PM.
Old 04-26-24, 08:14 AM
Saveth
Rookie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by BenjaminAnderson
What did you do?