GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Complete Newbie...needs advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-04, 10:48 AM
04GS300
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete Newbie...needs advice

Hi everyone! I just joined the ranks of Lexus owners and I've been scouring the boards to learn.

Basically I just hope to get some opinions on where is a good place to start modding my new car ('04 GS3). I've already decided that some window tint and bulb replacement are the 1st order of business, but after that I'm lost. Let me say that I love cars and know a fair bit about cars, but when it comes to actually working on them and that type of thing, I know nothing, so bear with me please

Basically what I'd like to do is upgrade the suspension some and maybe put 18s on it. I like the stock ride except it's a little floaty and leans too much. I'd like to keep basically the same ride but level it out and ground it a little more. I'd also like to up the performance some, but I'm definitely not interested in a 500rwhp monster, and I'd prefer to not get into FI, but I'm not totally against it. I also don't want to sound like a rice rocket going down the road...I've got the Levinson system and I'd like to be able to hear it without ruining my ears trying to drown out a droaning muffler!

So, from reading/searching on here, this is a basic idea of what I think (so far) are good components to look at:

Daizen sways, Tein CS, somebody's front STB (what's the difference b/t brands?), Tom's rear links

Then an intake, I'm thinking either ProLex or SRT (how loud are these?) and exhaust but then we get into the loudness again. Also an LSD and TC, but that's way over my head and I'd need to do more reading there.