GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Possible HUGE porblem with GS... (water in the footwell)

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-05, 08:46 PM
Stage3
Lexus Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possible HUGE porblem with GS... (water in the footwell)

Ok, while detailing my car today i took out the drivers side floor mat and noticed two football shaped (and about the same size) spots on the tan carpet. When i put my hand on it to see what it was, my hand came back soaked in stagnant water. THIS IS NOT GOOD!!!! We have just got off a few days worth of rain in Tampa, so im a little concerned. the water wasnt fresh as it had a bit of a funky smell. now as a former mechanic, my diagnostics training took over and I immediatley starting taking trim panels off and peeled back the carpet only to find the 2 inch thick white sound reducing insulation. I needed to finish my car as i have a date tomorrow (WOO HOO) but I'm REALLY concerned. I vaccumed the spots of water for about 30 min and even pulled out a hair dryer and hit the spots for about 10 more min. it was almost dry when i moved on, but the carpet was cool to the touch which means more water is sitting undreneath it. By my previous training i dont think that its the drain for the Moon roof as typically the first signs of trouble with the moon roof are patches of water on the head liner. But i was wondering if anyone had any ideas what it may be. Possibly a body plug thats missing???? im not sure as of now, but im going to have to check it out and fast, as Floridas rainy season is FAST approaching

any help is appreciated as normal.
Old 04-08-05, 08:51 PM
blueGS400
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ac condenser???????,,,,,,,,or maybe have u had a system put in recently, maybe missing a grommet on firewall or they drilled a new hole for power wire, just suggestions but i wish i could be more helpful
Old 04-08-05, 09:08 PM
Stage3
Lexus Fanatic