GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

GS400 vs. GS430

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-01, 12:37 AM
xshadowz

I'm thinking of purchasing a used GS400 to save some $$$ compared to the newer GS430, but want to be sure that its just as good.
Since I'm just starting out, I'd like to you folks who are experienced with the vehicle a few questions:

Notice any driving/performance differences between the GS400 and GS430?

Interior changes?

Exterior changes?

I read about the "lag" in the GS400, still present in the GS430? Is there a fix for the lag?
Also, anything else (problems) that are common in the GS?

Thanks for the assistance!!!
Old 07-29-01, 02:52 AM
LexDriver18
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I own a 2000 GS400 and LOVE IT!! I have NO COMPLAINTS!! I would recommend a used GS400 for 3 BIG reasons. First of all, there were only SUTTLE interior and exterior changes on the models. You have to have an expert eye to catch them. Two, the GS400 has E-SHIFT which I'm sure you are familiar with. I LOVE MINE!! It's kinda tight to impress the ladies too.
"Is it stick or auto?"
"BOTH"

Third, with the mone you saved you can get a few relatively inexpensive mods and be MUCH MUCH FASTER and look MUCH MUCH NICER than a GS430. Torque converter? SRT Intake? Rims? Lowering? System??

BTW, I LOVE NY!!
Old 07-29-01, 03:07 AM
gsintensive
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Un... Basically I would have disagree with justin on that, the changes from 2000 to 2001 mite seem subtle on the surface, but deep down inside, it is an next generation v8 engine "3UZ-FE" with tons of extras. The new 430 comes in with two more advanced features, bigger navigation screen.. (trust me it is BIG) and top quality Mark levingson system.