GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Tint Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-01, 03:25 PM
RealMarty
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I had my GS430 tinted on Saturday with Solarguard 35%.

From what I can tell they did a good job (no bubbles, etc) and they were not expensive ($160). I'm not an expert on tint, having only tinted one car 4 years ago, so I need some help.

At night when I look in the rear view mirror I see multiple reflections of the lights of the cars behind me from the heater lines on the back window. It's not terrible. Just distracting.

No problem seeing clearly out the back during the daytime.

Is this normal?
Old 08-08-01, 04:30 PM
///MDex
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Sounds slightly odd to me.

I had mine done a few weeks ago, but no such occurence. Maybe the tint is affecting the rear view auto-dimming. Only thing I can think of.

The only difference I notice right after a tint job is the cloudiness. That usually goes away within a couple of weeks, depending on the time of year / heat.

I'd say wait it out, then call the shop where you had it done to see if they can shed any light.
Old 08-08-01, 07:51 PM
2SAVVY
Lexus Champion

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Marty,

Check to see if they used a single rear piece on the rear window.. Other than that the only thing I can think of is the tint hasn't fully dried out and you are getting that multi-reflection because of that..

My guess thou is they used 2 pieces on the rear window.. Hope that helps and i'm glad you finally got your wheels!!
Old 08-09-01, 05:40 AM
RealMarty
Lexus Test Driver

Dexter,

Nothing wrong with the auto-dimming on the rear-view mirror. Same reflections with the dimming off.

2SAVVY,

Rear window was done in one piece. I watched them do it.

And thanks. It's really great to finally be driving my GS.

===========