GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

How does Lexus GS compare to other sporty luxury cars?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-06, 08:20 PM
JoeJ
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How does Lexus GS compare to other sporty luxury cars?

How does Lexus GS compare to other sporty luxury cars (such as Mercedes, BMW, and Jaguar)? What are the GS's advantages and disadvantages over those makes?

Lexus has been ranked #1 in reliability for many years, according to Consumer Reports. I wonder why anyone would buy any other car instead of a Lexus. The Lexus GS is similar in price to the BMW 3-series (a tiny cramped car in which I would feel unsafe in the event of an accident), yet seems to be similar in size and luxury feel as the more expensive 5-series. Hence, the Lexus GS seems to be a great value.

Those are just my observations. I am no car expert. I can't even drive stick-shift.
Old 07-30-06, 08:56 PM
Och
Lexus Champion

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by JoeJ
How does Lexus GS compare to other sporty luxury cars (such as Mercedes, BMW, and Jaguar)? What are the GS's advantages and disadvantages over those makes?

Lexus has been ranked #1 in reliability for many years, according to Consumer Reports. I wonder why anyone would buy any other car instead of a Lexus. The Lexus GS is similar in price to the BMW 3-series (a tiny cramped car in which I would feel unsafe in the event of an accident), yet seems to be similar in size and luxury feel as the more expensive 5-series. Hence, the Lexus GS seems to be a great value.

Those are just my observations. I am no car expert. I can't even drive stick-shift.
Your observations are dead on, and then add greater reliability, cheaper repair costs, and IMO overall better built quality and you get a great value.
Old 07-30-06, 09:06 PM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 79 Likes on 61 Posts