GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Redline Motor Oil

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-01, 02:09 PM
Shinchan
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Redline Motor Oil

Does anyone know where I can buy some Redline motor oil? Does anyone has exprience with that product? What kind of Oil should I use? 5W30? How many shall I buy.. Thanks I have so many question...
Old 10-22-01, 02:35 PM
gs400tx
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stick with mobil1 - 17bucks at wallmart for 5qrts

Anything else is not worth the trouble. Redline and royal purple are 6bucks a quart.
Old 10-22-01, 03:14 PM
Mean Gene
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up Good Stuff!

As a oil company engineer, I've seen alot of SAE tests of oils & more times than not, Royal Purple comes out on top. But as TX says, it's $35 for 5 quarts!:eek: Not to say it's not worth it but that's overkill for street engine, IMO. M1 & Redline tend to run neck & neck for second place, along with Amsoil. Since M1's so easy to find ( Wally World ), why run anything else? Besides, Reeves Callaway & John Lingenfelter specify it for their Corvette engines. 5W-30's fine all year long - believe the 4.0 V-8 takes 4 quarts in the engine & about 1/2 quart in the filter. Give the M1 line of oil filters consideration as well!

P.S. - No, I don't work for Exxon/Mobil!!
Old 10-23-01, 02:28 PM
Goods
Driver

Stay away from Redline and Royal Purple .... Any manufacturer can make a product to meet a certain test standard ... but you want a good overall balanced package.

You don't think all the major OEM's use Mobil 1 for a particuar reason? Granted .. some of it may be marketing .. but as they teach in lubrication school ... Oil is the lifeblood of a machine. Who do you think spends more money on R&D to balance out all the properties that you want in a motor oil?

Oh, BTW, I used to work for ExxonMobil .
Old 10-24-01, 02:18 PM
Mean Gene