GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Full Throttle = white smoke

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-08, 01:52 PM
j_version_
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Full Throttle = white smoke

My car likes to blow white smoke whenever i get on it. its not real bad but its noticable in my rear view mirror. what could cause this? also my car seems to be burning oil. theres no leaks or anything in my driveway. sorry im a lexus novice. any input would be appreciated.
Old 03-10-08, 02:30 PM
NBart
Pole Position

You probably need to get you intake gaskets replaced. sounds like you are getting oil into the cylinder/s and that is producing the white smoke. This happened to me on another car and I was not cheap to fix.
Old 03-10-08, 05:00 PM
TRD911
Lead Lap

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

I do not think that the 1UZ or the inline 6 manifold that keeps oil and the air fuel side separated. I think your looking at a lower end problem with the rings. Remember that our engines are an overhead cam design and not the traditional cam and push rod type engine. Anyone correct me with a pic would be great

How many miles are on your car?
Have you always owned it?
What kind of oil are you using?

If you are seeing smoke at the back that is bad. Normally the catalytic converters can burn off small amounts oil that gets to them if your getting smoke that means a lot of oil is getting past.

Let us know what you find.

BP
Old 03-10-08, 05:35 PM
raytseng
Instructor

Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts

From basic mechanics class, blue=some kind of oil, white=water/coolant, black=fuel. Probably wise to go with obvious and think it's water/coolant first.

Of course these are standard answers and what you are observing might be more complex Your eyes might be fooled and it's really a bluish white, or whatever fluid is burning might have enough water content in it to make the smoke mostly "water" colored as a diagnosis.