GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Washed my engine bay...misifiring now??

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-08, 12:55 PM
98GS300-2
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Washed my engine bay...misifiring now??

Hey guys, I'm new to the Lexus/Toyota side of the car scene so I'm still in the dark as to what my car can and can't take and how much I have to worry over certain issues...

That being said...I washed the engine bay on my GS300 yesterday, no high pressure water or anything just a light dribbling over everything so I wouldn't get electronic parts too wet or anything. After doing that I took it for a quick spin just to help the drying process...that drive went fine.

Later last night I was going to head over to a buddies house and was going to take the GS. Got about 2 blocks down the road and it felt like it was missing pretty bad...it would sputter/shake/buck pretty decently so I turned around, parked it, and took the mustang instead. Thinking some water probably just got into somewhere it shouldn't have I was hoping it would evaporate overnight and be good to go today...no such luck. I took it out with my dad to have him check it out and it was driving fine until about 5 min into the drive when it started bucking and shaking again. Now whenever I even turn the car on it shakes pretty bad.

I'm thinking I probably just got water into something with the spark plugs and maybe fouled a plug or something but with the process of checking/replacing plugs being more involved on the GS than I'm used to I'm hoping to get some 2nd opinions to make sure I'm thinking correctly! Do you guys believe it's the plugs/coil packs or what else could possibly be causing it to do this? The car is now sitting out in my driveway with the sun beating down on the engine to hopefully help bake anything else away. Thanks and sorry for the long post.

Quick car info:
1998 Lexus GS300
158,000 miles