GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-08, 06:10 PM
T.GS300
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice

Hey guys

Just looking for some advice on how to improve my car a bit. I have a 2002 GS300 and I absolutely love it. Keep in mind this is my first car ever and I'm complete noob when it comes to cars. I can, however, appreciate clean and classy upgrades. I'm just looking for pointers on what I can do that's relatively cheap for now, places I can go to around the Toronto area, and if I need to buy parts myself for the upgrades.

Some things I want to do and need help with:

- Lower it (how exactly does this work? Do I need to buy the new springs and then take those to a shop and ask them to drop it??)

- Color brakes (My GS is Silver, and I would LOVE to get those RED breaks that say Lexus on them. I've seen them on a couple of pics here and they look super hot)

- Clear bottom tail lights (I see these all the time on the boards here. How difficult/expensive are they to put on?)

- New tires/rims (My current tires are pretty crappy. There's almost no thread left and sometimes the car can't even keep a straight line when I drop the gas from a dead stop. It keeps swirving. Similar thing happens when I break hard. Again keep in mind I'm a complete noob when it comes to this stuff, so what should I be looking for as far as numbers and brands?)

- Rims (I basically fell in love with the rims on that absolutely SICK black onyx GS that's floating around the net. I'm sure you guys know what I'm talking about. I think I might have even seen this dude post on the boards here. Where can I get these and what are they gonna cost me?? Please don't say 5grand LOL)