GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

new to this, would really appreciate suggestions!

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-08, 01:21 AM
danny10989
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to this, would really appreciate suggestions!

hello everyone i am still very new to this. i just got into fixing up my car which is a gs300 2000. its black and i guess it was a gold package because my emblems were gold. i received the car after about 70 thousand miles and although it wasn't in horrible condition it surely wasnt pampered either. the grille had many chips in it from rocks and the paint started coming off the grill and the back bumper was murdered by street parking in san francisco.

But since i received the car i have tinted it ( 5% in the back and 35% in the two fronts), painted the complete back bumper, put some Hid lights on (6000k), painted the grill glossy black but painted the emblems in the front and back flat black. i also painted the original chrome around the grille flat black, put some weather tech window visors on and lastly i took off the gs300 and lexus emblems in the back and just left the L emblem in the middle.

Since becoming a member of CL, i have met some very nice people with advice through PMs and i also bought a roof spoiler (DSR v2) off a moderator (PHML) which was very helpful with advice on putting it on also.

now this is where i am stuck.

I wanna get some rims but kinda on a budget ( starving college student ) so I'm willing to spend about 1500 - 1700 max for some wheels including tires. It would be best if i could find something under 1500 since i really wanna drop it also but with some nice springs or coil overs because i really need the ride to stay smooth and not rough since my parents would be in the car from time to time.

SO with all that being said ( sorry for the long story )