GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Buying my GS430.. NEED HELP

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-09, 12:33 PM
lexGS4me
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Buying my GS430.. NEED HELP

Hello everyone.. my name is Mark and I am new to ClubLexus.

I am a current Scion tC owner and am looking to make the switch to a GS430. I've been searching endlessly for a while now to see what is available, and I frequent autotrader and other car classifieds online. My criteria includes.. black/white exterior, black leather interior a must, and preferably lower mileage since I don't want crazy wear on the leather.

Anyway, I found an '03 GS430 white/black (very rare color combo) with 99k miles for $15k. Think there's any room to negotiate?

This is what they emailed me when I expressed interest- "The Lexus is in excellent/above average condition. The car is priced with 98k miles. It would be a lot more expensive with lower mileage. I can fax a history report per you providing the fax number. It will need tires within the next year"

Do you guys think this is a decent deal? Is the mileage too high? I don't want to buy a used GS just to put another 2-5grand into it right away just for service maintenance or something. At what intervals should you get serviced to make sure everything's good? At my dealer I think they offer a 15k, 30k, 100k or something like that..... I had my tC serviced at 15k and it probably cost 250-300 just to get a few things checked out.

If I'm leaving some vital info out that would help you assess if this is a good deal or not, please let me know! I am here to get your opinions
Old 01-12-09, 12:40 PM
2000LEX
Lexus Test Driver

Check service records, I just bought an 02 GS and my service records are 2 pages. So i would say start there. The more records the better
Old 01-12-09, 01:24 PM
sakataj
Lexus Fanatic

Received 73 Likes on 72 Posts

Originally Posted by 2000LEX