GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Having a weak moment with my car

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-09, 09:11 AM
MPLexus301
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Having a weak moment with my car

While driving around yesterday my check engine light, VSC, and VSC OFF lights all decided to stare back at me. It has been raining here nonstop so I figured that maybe driving around in puddles for the last two days had gotten some water in a sensor or something, but I called my service advisor anyway. He said that the water shouldn't affect anything and to bring the car over.

An hour later he walks out shaking his head and tells me that my exhaust manifold is underperforming. Retail cost to fix it is $1800, my cost is $1050 (as an ex-employee). As a college student I just don't have $1,000 to fix it right now and I am down on the car as a whole. I bought it with 66K on it in July of last year and am now just under 80K. In a year and a half I have had to fix or replace the following:

- 3 door lock actuators (we all know how much they cost)
- 1 battery
- sunroof creak/rattle
- 1 O2 sensor
- noisy/creaky ball joints
- My nav screen flashes purple intermittently and will need to be replaced at some point
- Now this exhaust manifold