GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Resonator Delete?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-13, 09:16 AM
LandonGs03
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Resonator Delete?

I'm a noob with exhaust but want to be a little more loud. I've looked up the cat back and axle back replacement and I don't really want to spend the money right now just for a little deeper sound. I'm on the verge of cutting out the resonators but I wanted to consult you guys first for any input you all might have. I'm lucky enough to have never had a check engine light come on and I really don't want to set off any codes by doing this. So should I do this? Thanks
Old 10-29-13, 10:33 AM
Debonair
iModerate

Received 40 Likes on 28 Posts

No codes will be set by this mod. Worst case scenario you may loose some fuel economy and/or performance. I personally doubt it will be noticeable if it does happen and have not read of this happening to anyone that has done it.
Old 10-29-13, 11:45 AM
Sampak
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Removing the rear 2 mufflers (near the bumper) will result in a deeper rumble when you step on it, but also cause an annoying drone around 1500-1900 RPM under acceleration typical for highway/main roads. If you can live with that, go for it.

On the other hand, removing the 2 or all 3 resonators (there are 2 cylinder shaped side by side, and 1 just in front of them that looks more like a muffler) will give you more noise and more character if you keep the rear 2 mufflers only. Not sure on drone, as I don't have this setup, just the first one above.