GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Gs300 double din install diy detailed and pictures!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-16, 10:25 PM
Forrestb
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Gs300 double din install diy detailed and pictures!!!

Ok guys so im new to the forum my names forrest and i own a black 99 gs300 with 200k miles ect ect. Now on to the diy!

Ok first off i am not a professional i by anyway shape or form am not resposible for damage done to your car if you attempt this diy this is just a basic guide and what i did to get the radio working properly!!
I am doing this write up because maybe it can help someone. I searched and searched and got enough to piece it together but no fully detailed write ups.

If you can do a radio in any normal car and are ok with wiring then you should be able to do this

Tools i used
:screwdriver
10mm with extention
Wire cutters
But connectors
Crimpers
Lots of tape/wire loom

The amount of the clean install depends on you. I feel like mine is very clean for what it is

Parts list:
Metra dash kit for 99 lexus gs300
Radio of your choice
Extra wire of your choice. I used 14g.
Radio install kit. (Comes with 2 plugs. It does not say lexus in anyway i just went to autozone and got the one for 87+ toyota and it worked just fine. If you find an 87+ one from wherever else i think it might work
Butt connectors/ Sauder whatever works
<br >
Ok lets get started.
First things first unplug your battery you dont want anything surprise blowing up in your face like your airbag (cough cough) <br >
Then take apart your glove compartment!
There are 3 screws on top and 2 10mm on the bottom. After you remove those give it a good tug and it will come out.

I sont have pictures of the glove compartment but you will figure it out.

Now for the center console.