GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

2003 gs430 ABS issues...

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-17, 04:52 PM
Jthompson1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 gs430 ABS issues...

Hey guys I'm new to the whole thread community, I traded for a beautiful Gs430.... but there is the kicker.... I'm getting absoultley zero pressure to both calipers in the rear I've checked all the fuses and relays they're all intact, the fluid is clean, there are no leaks. Ive already tried bleeding the calipers, and there is fluid getting to the caliper but nothing coming through the caliper. Bled each side for about 30 minutes here is the question I need help if anyone has had the same problem and what some troubleshooting steps and links for replacement parts. Thanks in advance guys
Old 08-05-17, 05:10 AM
Mr Jokster
Lexus Test Driver

Received 90 Likes on 82 Posts

Well considering you checked all the fuses LoL

Seriously though, seems to possibly be the worst case scenario which would be seized calipers. If you see fluid escaping while bleeding them, i would assume that the pistons are stuck. However, its hard to believe that it would happen to both calipers at the same time.

Oh, other question... How do you know you've got no pressure back there? You stated you can bleed them, which means pressure IS going back there.

Last edited by Mr Jokster; 08-05-17 at 05:13 AM.
Old 08-05-17, 06:14 PM
GS400V8
Intermediate

Received 43 Likes on 32 Posts

How do you know there is no pressure? The brake pedal is still soft?
When the ABS pump cycles it might have air in it thus rendering your brakes useless. There is a complicated ABS pump bleed procedure.

Also, everyone bleeds different and they are not always equal