GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Help with daughters 2001 GS300

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-20, 10:05 PM
obediah
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with daughters 2001 GS300

Hello all. This is my first post. I am hoping to get some feed back in hopes that I can figure out whats gooing on with my daughters car.

I'm am not a car technician. I try and keep the family cars running as best I can using YouTube and forums. I am a telecommunications technician so I have the ability to logically troubleshoot a lot of the troubles I find with our cars. I'm not very familiar with Lexus products so I am here asking for some assistance. Thank you in advance for any and all help you guys can offer!

My daughter said her car was acting funny. Took it for a test drive and the car was hesitating, sputtering and had a small backfire. Pulled the codes and got a P0171, 174, 300, 306. I originally thought that it was an air/fuel problem and since I had the P0300/306 I started by getting the throttle body out the way so I can look at the spark plugs. Once I pulled the throttle body I noticed coolant buildup on the engine on the passenger side to the right of the exhaust manifold. Once I saw that I started looking for coolant in the more obvious places. I noticed coolant buildup around the top side radiator hose and it looks like the coolant fill reservoir is filling up and coolant is seeping from the fill reservoir cap as there is dried coolant on top of the fill tank and down the side and rear of the tank. I will include the pictures. Her car does not overheat. The gauge stays in the middle but before I start chasing air/fuel trouble, I felt like maybe the cooling system should be addressed, so I turned to this forum. Any suggestions?

Thanks again for any help!

Passenger side exhaust manifold

Closer view

Better view

Radiator hose and coolant reservoir
Old 07-27-20, 10:32 PM
gs30