GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

ABS problem fixed

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-23, 01:39 AM
noahjk123
8th Gear

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post
Default ABS problem fixed

I’ve finally solved my ABS problem!
This is going to be a long and somewhat detailed writeup on what my symptoms were, my diagnosis, what the actual problem was, and how I fixed it. I’ll highlight the main points so you can skim through if you wish. DISCLAIMER: I’m not a mechanic. I’m an engineering student who loves his GS300 but doesn’t have bottomless pockets, so I often take the DIY route on “simpler” jobs.
Symptoms: ABS was engaging at low speeds when approaching a stop. There were no lights on the dash like VSC off or ABS. The ABS buzzes when coming to a stop and the anti-lock braking activates, inching the car forward a couple inches. It’s not exactly a safety issue but it becomes seriously annoying after a while.
It began happening only when I was doing a hard turn (like when pulling into a parking spot), but then it eventually got to the point where it happened at every stop. Very big PITA and very frustrating. Whenever there were passengers in the car I’d get questions like “what's that buzzing noise?” or “why does it do that when you stop?” So I began the long process of diagnosing the issue.