GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Metallic Tint affecting Nav

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-05, 01:55 AM
3GS168
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Metallic Tint affecting Nav

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum. This is my first post. I just got my GS430 the other day and the first thing i want to do is tint my windows. I wanted to get HPquantum which is metallic but the dealer said that it might affect my navigation. Any suggestions? This is an awesome forum by the way. Lot's of sweet rides.
Old 10-27-05, 06:22 AM
DaveJ
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I never heard of a window tint affecting NAV. But it will affect satellite radio reception if you have the antenna on the inside rear shelf.
Old 10-27-05, 06:28 AM
DaveGS4
Forum Administrator
Administrator

Received 2,332 Likes on 1,419 Posts

Metallic tint can definitely cause problems with OEM Lexus nav. Many members have had to remove / replace metallic tint because of the interference
Old 10-27-05, 08:25 AM
toyemp
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have read a lot of stories on metalic film interfering with the nav and my tint shop advised that it would also interfere with AM radio reception also. I just got my car done on monday and since I didn't want to go with a dye-based film, I ended up going with Formula One Pinnacle film. It is a ceramic-based film that offers all of the glare/heat/UV rejection properties of metalic film but without the electronic interference. It costs a lot more, but worth it IMHO.
Old 10-27-05, 08:28 AM
SGT
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by toyemp