GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

S Mode (Manumatic)

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-06, 01:04 PM
SGT
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default S Mode (Manumatic)

I've got no experience using the manumatic feature, but I'm curious as to how it works. Why does it start off in the 5th gear even if I'm not moving?
Old 06-13-06, 03:00 PM
ARM0R
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That's because it got phock-ed up. It's supposed to start in 2nd or 1st gear.
+ for upshift, - for downshift. Drive slowly and give it a try. Have fun.
Old 06-13-06, 03:17 PM
Eternity3G
Lexus Test Driver

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I think it's speed sensitive. It should gear to what your current speed is at. If you are doing 80mph, you don't want to throw it into "S" and the gear jumps down to second! blow some -ish up!!! usually, just throw it into S and down one to get the extra kick...
Old 06-13-06, 04:07 PM
drck1000
Driver

I am starting to play with that option as well. On the way home from work, after I get off the freeway, there are some uphill series turns leading up to the house where I like to use this option. At first I also did notice that the display showed gear 5, but in those instances, it was always when I was just coasting. When at a stop light, I remember shifting it into the S mode and then shifting it down until it was in 1st and then going from there. I guess I should play around with that option some more. I have noticed that it makes the average MPG go way down. I guess the transmission is pretty fuel efficient in comparison.

I do remember when I test drove the IS350 and the display showed you in which gear you were at even without the S mode.
Old 06-13-06, 08:10 PM
kb2yza
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

as i posted else where a while back...