GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Mileage Lease overage

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-10, 04:09 AM
emdogg
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mileage Lease overage

Hi,
I'm thinking of trading in my lexus for a slightly used 2010 GS lease. But I drive about 25K a year and the salesperson said that the vehicle is usually worth more and it'll be a wash even if I trade it in early. Basically, even if I drive more than the 10K lease agreement, I won't end up paying $0.18/mi if i trade it in for a new lease. Is this complete BS?
Old 08-23-10, 04:12 AM
windex
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have ZERO experience with leasing cars. But, I do know one thing 100% true about them, if it sounds too good to be true odds are it is.
Old 08-23-10, 05:00 AM
MichaelPea
Pole Position

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Sounds like BS to me. Normally with a lease early termination you wind up paying the lease amount times the number of months remaining. Sometimes it works out better but rarely. And if you're leasing the new vehicle you should be able to "buy" more mileage up front at the same rate as if you exceed your mileage cap. To be honest, if you're routinely driving 25k per year leasing may not make a great deal of sense except that you can possibly trade out more often if you're lucky enough to find the few cars where early termination isn't as severely penalized.
Old 08-23-10, 05:18 AM
herbvdh
Lexus Test Driver