GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Are these mod's right for me?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-11, 01:04 PM
manyvices
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Are these mod's right for me?

Let me begin by saying that I am a complete novice when it comes to modifications. I have never done any mod's in the past on any of my cars because before this one, I've always had a company car. I am looking for some feedback/suggestions/information. I have a 2007 GS 350 awd Silver/Black with 17" stock rims. I definitely like the looks of stepping up to bigger wheels (19 or 20's), a lowered suspension, and full body kits but I am a bit worried about adding any/all of these considering that 1) I live in Chicago where the climate is definitely harsh and 2) I drive typically 20,000-25,000 miles a year.

I am sure by lowering the suspension as well as stepping up to larger wheels, the ride will not be as smooth as the stock set-up. I don't want to sacrifice too much of ride comfort seeing that I do drive quite a bit.

I believe I know the answer to this question, but I'm sure I can step up to 19/20" wheels without lowering the suspension, however, will that look weird having all of that space in between the car and the tires? I am thinking it will look odd.

Anyways, any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Old 02-10-11, 01:19 PM
I8ABMR
Lexus Fanatic

Received 102 Likes on 67 Posts

It would looke better with a drop but not that much better. My GS was dropped on coilovers and when I would see a GS with wheels and stock height I never thought it looked bad. i would do a set of 20's with 255/30/20 all the way around ( not staggered ) and a set of the F sport sway bars and call it a day. If you want the staggered set up then go with 245/35/20 and 275/30/20. Do the dubs. 19's look weak on a car of this size
Old 02-10-11, 01:27 PM
IXI187IXI
Lexus Fanatic

Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts