GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

07 GS350 Nav screen question

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-13, 08:50 PM
Jeepdude
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 07 GS350 Nav screen question

OK..so I had the dreaded "Digitizer stopped responding" issue with my Nav screen. I took it apart to repair and now, screen is all white...also the digitizer cracked.

I used to be an electronic tech for many years and fixed many PCBs in the past, but somehow a small transformer on the PCB that drives the LCD panel broke. It is un-repairable as it is surface mounted and I wouldn't even know where to get the part. Also, I was chipping away the glass to get at the traces under the edge of the digitizer and the glass cracked.

Anyway; here is my question. Does anyone know if the driver PCB, LCD panel and Digitizer are the same on the Nav and Non Nav units? All I need to repair the screen are those three parts. I have seen the non-Nav units much cheaper than the Nav units. Even if I can get a used one, at least I can get the screen to work again in my wifes car.

Thanks in advance for the help.
Old 09-08-13, 09:44 PM
XxGoKoUxX

Received 59 Likes on 56 Posts

I can't tell you if they're the same.... But I can tell you between the years, it most definitely differs. Certain generations of these DVDs/Nav units have higher definition screens.

Correct me if I am wrong, as I am a part time computer tech, and my father owns a repair shop.... But isn't the screen just a LCD panel, w/ a CFL bulb underneath, and the digitizer is a separate ribbon cable that goes on top of the LCD panel.

Doesn't the LCD+digitizer only contain 3 connections, as in CFL lead goes to inverter board, LCD ribbon goes to it's own port, and digitizer ribbon goes to it's own port?