GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Cheap JDM GS460 rescue (NZ)

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-19, 11:11 AM
LexusJan
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cheap JDM GS460 rescue (NZ)

Hello! I’ve been lured here by the knowledge and advice of this board and have loved reading everything I’ve found. I bought a dark grey JDM (RHD) 2007 GS460 about 6 weeks ago. A huge upgrade from my tiny 1.5l Mazda! I’m very much enjoying the upgrade, too; as someone who commutes long distance I am grateful to have a slick, tidy and comfortable car to spend several hours a day in. I was extremely fortunate to pick it up below GS350 price.. (confirmed urgent shift overseas), of course that came with knowing it would have problems and quirks to work through. And quirks and problems there are.

I am a novice when it comes to working on cars, but I am lucky to be working alongside my partner who is more advanced and is keeping me calm while we work through the to-do list. We are hoping to do as much work as possible ourselves, only outsourcing when necessary. Trying to get a service manual at the moment (any tips on gs460 specific? Few places are for lot of models and some are very slow to communicate..), but I’d like to get things moving as soon as I can. I’m starting this thread to ask for advice but also with the intention of keeping the thread going as a blog while we work on the car. It will be nice to come back with updates and solutions. We found so much good information here it seems fair to keep it up and share what we learn.