GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

2008 GS460 TCU(TCM) SWAPPED(2008 IS-F's)

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-21, 08:11 AM
skyyos
Driver

Received 32 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 2008 GS460 TCU(TCM) SWAPPED(2008 IS-F's)

Hello, guys

I am studying years about the performance upgrade on my car and I finally get to swap the TCU taken out from IS-F 2008.

I find that original TCU from my car have "KOREA spec TCU" WTF? USA GS460 and KOREA GS460 clearly have different logic to it.

---------------------

What I get from the exchange on TCU are mainly

1) Faster shifting time.

2) Rev. matching on downshift

3) you can raise redline up to 6,900 rpm without ECU remapped. ( But, I strongly recommend you to get ECU re-tuned. I have problems in 1st and 2nd gear.)

-------

Performance & driving fun gotten much better yet as I mentioned above, I do have problems in up shifting 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd.
3rd to 4th and 4th to 5th gear gotten so much faster.
I need to fix the efficiency of ECU again because 0~100 km got slower and 100~200 km got faster(Data provided by "DRAGY GPS"

Lastly, I ordered PPE HEADERS from VIVID Racing(Mike Ham / contact person). LEAD TIME OF 9 WEEKS SHIPPED TO SOUTH KOREA.
9 Weeks are such a long time!! Anyways more of performance upgrade on our GS460 will be posted.

Last edited by skyyos; 04-02-21 at 06:18 AM.
The following 3 users liked this post by skyyos:
mrbondy (03-29-21), Sanac (03-30-21), TreysGS460 (03-31-21)
Old 03-28-21, 10:33 AM
ibidu1
Lexus Test Driver

Received 792 Likes on 685 Posts

ever thought of just supercharging it?
Old 03-29-21, 09:58 AM
Lwerewolf
Racer

Received 257 Likes on 193 Posts

Keep in mind that the headers drop the pre-cats. In other words - potential emissions problems, definitely if you've also removed the main cats (the one on the midpipe).
Old 03-30-21, 07:01 AM
Sanac
Driver School Candidate

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post