GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) Discussion about the 2013 and up GS models

Lexus AWD System and Rolling Diameter Differences?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-24, 09:23 AM
SteveOh187
3rd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Lexus AWD System and Rolling Diameter Differences?

Hi everyone, I am new to Club Lexus and this is my first post as I just recently acquired a 2016 Lexus GS350 Base AWD model. I have begun digging into wheel and tire specs and in particular, non-staggered setups but have not been able to find a concrete answer to my concern.

I am considering running a 20x9 +30 wheel setup on all 4 corners and ideally I would like to run 255/35/20 tires for better ride quality and wheel durability (NJ potholes are no joke). Using a Wheel Fitment Calculator and comparing against my OEM setup's specs, this would result in a 2.59% rolling diameter difference:

OEM Setup: 18x8 +45 235/45/18
New Setup: 20x9 +30 255/35/20

My question then is, would this big of a rolling diameter difference cause any damage to the AWD system / differentials or trigger any check engine lights? Reason I ask is that my previous car was also AWD (Infiniti G37 Coupe) and I ran a setup that was a rolling diameter of just over 1% bigger and it caused issues with the AWD system / triggered CEL's for an "overheating differential". Once I swapped to tires that were closer to the OEM rolling diameter the fault code went away.

I'm hoping some members with AWD model GS's can chime in and provide some insight on what kind of wheel / tire setups they are running, the rolling diameter difference between their current setup and the stock setup and finally, if you have encountered any issues / error codes?
Old 07-02-24, 10:49 AM
Lanson
Intermediate

Received 47 Likes on 34 Posts

AWD owner here (and rabid wheel and tire researcher.)