Buying used GS 350 F sport

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-17, 12:35 PM
kbig
Rookie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Buying used GS 350 F sport

Hey guys, been lurking for a while.
I'm looking to buy a used 2013-2015 GS 350 F sport via my credit union. My question is: How should I proceed to make sure the vehicle I purchase was not in an accident that was not reported? I'm not a mechanic and this will be my first real purchase of a car. (I used to own a 92 sc400, but that car passed to me and was beat up, sadly.) Should I bring a mechanic to check the car out? Is there a law for some sort of return policy? I'm in California, if that helps any.
Any advice helps, thank you.
Old 02-01-17, 01:16 PM
Spideyman1
Rookie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

When I was searching, I checked dealer stock for Certified Pre-owned cars only. If the car has less miles/time than the standard 4yr/50K mile warranty, you get the balance of that, plus another 2 years or 20K miles. You will pay more for a CPO car, but to me, I wanted some piece of mind. CPO cars have a pretty rigorous 161 point inspection, cars that have been in accidents could still be CPO candidates, but I don't think if it was a major accident it would pass. You can read more on Lexus CPO here: http://www.lexus.com/lcertified/certification-warranty
Old 02-01-17, 01:36 PM
roblim
Pole Position

Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by Spideyman1
When I was searching, I checked dealer stock for Certified Pre-owned cars only. If the car has less miles/time than the standard 4yr/50K mile warranty, you get the balance of that, plus another 2 years or 20K miles. You will pay more for a CPO car, but to me, I wanted some piece of mind. CPO cars have a pretty rigorous 161 point inspection, cars that have been in accidents could still be CPO candidates, but I don't think if it was a major accident it would pass. You can read more on Lexus CPO here: http://www.lexus.com/lcertified/certification-warranty