GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) Discussion about the 2013 and up GS models

What makes the GS 10,000$ more expensive than the IS?

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-20, 02:11 PM
Kam7001
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Question What makes the GS 10,000$ more expensive than the IS?

Hi guys, I'm a 20-year-old college student studying business. I recently purchased a house. Currently, I'm looking to buy my first car. I've been looking at the 2016+ GS 350 F sport model years and they look great. I've also been eyeing the IS 350 F sports. I want to purchase one and was hoping you guys can help me out.

This is what I know about the two cars (correct me if I'm wrong). IS and GS share the same 3.5-liter corporate engine. They both get around the same gas milages and take premium. Both look similar, have high-quality leather interior, have optional Mark Levinson audio systems (Audiophile), and come in optional AWD (Upstate NY).

I test drove both the IS but it was 2011 and the GS 2015. The 11 has a very small rear seat, making me not wanting to buy it on that alone. But I heard they updated the size of the IS in the newer models so this shouldn't be an issue anymore.

So why is there a 10,000$ price gap between the two models? Does it drive better? Have something special about it? I'm not seeing it. Please help me out here. I'm looking to buy around January-April. The perfect car would be IS/GS 350 F Sport 2018 with around 30,000k Mileage and mark Levinson included.

Popular Reply

12-20-20, 03:02 PM
JDR76
Lexus Champion

Received 1,612 Likes on 1,028 Posts

Having owned both, I will give this a try.

Size - The GS is just a lot more car. The current generation of IS is definitely bigger than the 2011 you drove, but it is still very small inside. As I recall, it gained about 1.5" of rear seat leg room over the previous version.