GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) Discussion about the 2013 and up GS models

Loud creak in roof

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-21, 05:17 PM
Ktrav103
Rookie

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Loud creak in roof

Hey everyone, really need some help here. I have a 2019 GS F Sport. I have a loud (very loud at times) creak from the roof when slowly turning and going up or down steep inclines. It’s a creaking above my head and it it driving me nuts!!
I have seen the TSB for the rattling from the sunroof where replacing the weatherstrip on the glass fixes it. This definitely is not that... it happens more so the first couple turns of the day. I have dropped my headliner a bit on one side and looked around a bit. I was a tech at a dealership for 20 years so I’m no stranger to these type of things. However as I get older the less I want to mess with my own stuff. The car only has 12K miles and is under warranty. However I know how difficult these types of problems are and how much additional damage can be made pursuing this creak.
so I am wanting to see if anyone knows a fix or had a similar issue???
I absolutely love this car EXCEPT for this annoying noise.
let me know what y’all think or if there’s any TSB’s
any guidance would be appreciated!

thanks everyone
The following users liked this post:
sbowden99 (05-19-24)
Old 03-09-21, 07:50 PM
AJLex19
Lead Lap

Received 1,174 Likes on 865 Posts

One thing to try is to open your sunroof and see if the problem still happens. I think when the sunroof is fully opened, the noise may not be apparent as the position of the roof, considering the rails/track and the stiffness of the weatherstrip will be different.