GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) Discussion about the 2013 and up GS models

Beat-Sonic CarPlay

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-21, 07:10 AM
Cobra611
Pit Crew

Received 35 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Beat-Sonic CarPlay

I broke down and purchased the Beat-Sonic version of and aftermarket Apple CarPlay system. Of all the choices I had seen, this is the more expensive one. But, watching several of the installation videos, and communicating with Eric from Beat-Sonic a few times prior to purchase, I felt I made the right choice. I had read many of the reviews for it, as well, and felt their customer service was top notch. I'm not too tech savvy, but wanted to save the $200-$300 for installation, so I attempted it myself. I wasn't removing what had to be removed, that I feared. It was putting it all back together. Usually, I end up with extra parts that somehow got overlooked, during reassembly. Much to my surprise, I was able to remove everything without any of it breaking or getting scratched. I had my iPad next to me, so I could watch the installation videos, as I went along. In doing that, it was very simple. Once I got all the wires connected, I tested the system before putting it all back together. It all worked out fine. As for mounting the 2 modules, my GS has something installed where the video recommended they go. I improvised and ran the wires up into the glove box, and that's where they sit. They are pretty small, and don't take up much room. I've had it installed for just over a week now. I really love it and I'm glad I went with Beat-Sonic. Eric was very responsive and helpful when it came to my emails with the questions I had asked. The apps I use work very well, with the exception of Waze. It's buggy at times, but may be because I'm running a Beta version of the latest iOS on my iPhone. The ONLY thing I'm not satisfied with (and not with Beat-Sonic) is the audio quality when listening to music, or anything from my iPhone. This is a wired system, and you must have th